They Make the School Year Go by So Fast!

Corps member working with a student.

The 2010 – 2011 school year was the first year that City Year Seattle/King County implemented Diplomas Now, an innovative school-turnaround model designed to work in partnership with some of our nation’s most under-resourced schools.  We are currently in two middle schools: Aki Kurose Middle School and Denny International Middle School.

One of the students at Aki Kurose MIddle School was assigned to do a free write during class. In her assignment, she highlighted City Year and more specifically, her City Year corps member, Megan. This segment is a heartwarming depiction of the impact of the work we do, and the connections and bonds we establish every day.


I like City Year this year. Megan is COOL!  I like Megan, because she helps us A LOT. She always tries her best to help us. I think that’s very COOL! Also, she is very funny. She likes to joke around and it makes talking about school fun! I think she’s a GREAT friend and I’m really happy that I have 6 periods with her. Sometimes I bother her too much and I’m scared she might get annoyed and leave. I hope she doesn’t leave.

In 5th grade, I was also friends with a City Year named McCall. She was cool, too! She convinced me to draw for a civil rights contest. I actually joined just for fun, but I won third place. I drew Jackie Robinson. I wish there will always be cool City Years in my classes. Even though High School! They make the school year go by so fast.

Our second year of Diplomas Now will commence in just a few short weeks and we can’t wait to continue to make an impact in the lives of Seattle students.

Leave a Reply

