Meet Senior Corps Member, Megan Hugel!

Megan (far right) participating in service with her fellow corps members

 

Hometown: San Francisco, CA

Age: 23

Why you serve: I serve because I understand how important it is to have individualized support and encouragement. I was able to succeed in school because I had people in my life who consistently believed in me and provided me with the support that I needed. I know there are students who are not getting this support, so I serve to provide them with a foundation for success. 

I continue to serve because I was able to see the incredible impact that a dedicated group of individuals can accomplish. This year, I serve to ensure that all corps members are able to make the biggest impact they can make so that more students feel supported and encouraged.

What advice do you have for new corps members: Utilize the rest of the City Year village. There are 40 other people going through what you’re going through. There are 13 senior corps members who went through the same experience last year. There is a staff full of knowledge and ideas. Reach out to those around you because you are in a strong community of supportive, loving people who may be struggling with exactly what you are struggling with.

And ALWAYS remember PITW #177 Laugh at Least Once a Day. Everyday.

This work is hard, but it’s also lots of fun. Laugh when things go wrong and it will make them seem a lot more manageable. Laugh with your team and grow stronger. Laughter is a great way to form new connections and get to know one another and your students.

Your City Year will be full of challenges, but as Buddha said, “When you realize how perfect everything is, you will tilt your head back and laugh at the sky.” You are going to have a powerful year and I’m so excited to see what you will do.

What are you looking forward to this year: I can’t wait to see the impact this corps will have on the Seattle community. I know it will be incredible and I am looking forward to supporting them in it.

Megan (second from right), sporting an Aki Kurose Middle School t-shirt, enjoying time with her students

Leave a Reply

